Best So Far

I have not been writing much. Sorry about that.

This newsletter was a way to feel like I did not always have to Do Book Stuff All the Time, where I could just get kind of messy and honest instead of putting on the good face you tend to need to put on publicly because the book world is not all that big and you don't like to say you hated someone's book when that person follows you on Twitter and will see you say it. This was going to be a downgrade, part of doing less and stepping back.

But then I got a little sidetracked. Because I started writing a new thing. And it went great. Suspiciously great. I am not saying the THING is great, I am saying the doing of it was great. It felt good to sit down and work. I could pass hours. I was feeling like I was doing what I wanted to do. It was super weird but it was pretty wonderful. I am assuming it will never happen again and this is as good as it gets.

When the writing is going well, you just don't want to write other things. At least I don't. I wrote less in my journal. I think my Goodreads reviews haven't been as sharp. You could make the argument that even my emails suffered. It was like I could only do one thing.

So that is what I have been doing and why I have not been emailing you. The thing is currently between drafts so I am not writing it and I honestly feel kind of empty and I miss it. On Sunday morning I sat in my bed and thought of the long day before me where I had nothing at all to do and felt sad. From here I don't know exactly when it will get picked back up or if it will become an even better thing or if this will be as good as it gets. But I am pretty grateful for what I've gotten.

Anyway. I have still been reading. This week I decided to get back in the groove for a little bit and make a Best of the Year So Far list.

And because this is not Twitter I will divide it up into the Favorites and the Honorable Mentions because here everyone does not have to get that cleaned up version of everything. I have mentioned most of these here already even if I have been not that great about posting because they were good enough to deserve it.

Favorites

Acts of Service
A provocative debut of sex and sexuality as a twentysomething New Yorker pursues a sexual freedom that follows no other lines than her ow...
Devil House
Gage Chandler is descended from kings. That’s what his mother always told him. Now, he is a true crime writer, with one grisly success--...
Disorientation
A Taiwanese American woman’s coming of consciousness ignites eye-opening revelations and chaos on a college campus in this outrageously h...
Little Rabbit
When the unnamed narrator of Little Rabbit first meets the choreographer at an artists’ residency in Maine, it’s not a match. She finds h...
Olga Dies Dreaming
A blazing talent debuts with the tale of a status-driven wedding planner grappling with her social ambitions, absent mother, and Puerto R...
Run Towards the Danger
“A visceral and incisive collection of six propulsive personal essays.” - Vanity Fair *Named a Most-Anticipated Book of 2022 by Ent...
Sea of Tranquility
A novel of art, time, love, and plague that takes the reader from Vancouver Island in 1912 to a dark colony on the moon three hundred yea...
Sleepwalk
A high speed and darkly comic road trip through a near future American with a big hearted mercenary Sleepwalk’s hero, Will Bear, is a ma...
Trust
From an award-winning chronicler of our nation’s histor…
Yerba Buena
The debut adult novel by the bestselling and award-winning YA author Nina LaCour, following two women on a star-crossed journey toward e...

Honorable Mentions

Counterfeit
The Reese’s Book Club hardcover edition can be found here. For fans of Hustlers and How to Get Filthy Rich in Rising Asia, the story of ...
Dele Weds Destiny
The story of three once-inseparable college friends in Nigeria who reunite in Lagos for the first time in thirty years--a sparkling debut...
Fiona and Jane
A witty, warm, and irreverent book that traces the lives of two young Taiwanese American women as they navigate friendship, sexuality, id...
Flying Solo
Smarting from her recently cancelled wedding and about to turn forty, Laurie Sassalyn returns to her Maine hometown of Calcasset to handl...
Invisible Things
A sharp allegorical novel about a hidden human civilization, a crucial election, and a mysterious invisible force that must not be named,...
Joan Is Okay
A witty, moving, piercingly insightful new novel about a marvelously complicated woman who can’t be anyone but herself, from the award-wi...
Patricia Wants to Cuddle
The contestants of a reality television dating show compete for love--and their lives--in this pulse-pounding and viciously funny fiction...
String Follow
A darkly comic suburban Gothic about a malevolent force that targets a group of Ohio misfits, harnessing their angst for its sinister des...
We Do What We Do in the Dark
A novel about a young woman’s life-altering affair with…

Maybe if I'm feeling very ambitious next week I'll even round up some July releases, there's a lot of good ones.

Thanks for sticking around.

Subscribe to Jess of the d'Urbervilles

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe